UK Summers

As I’ve mentioned already, I’ve moved around the UK when I was younger. This meant that we didn’t live that close to any extend family, however, many of my school holidays were spent in the UK. Whilst, most of my friends were off to the sun in Spain or France, I was (more than likely) in Devon and Cornwall. At the time, I was jealous of my friends for going to all these ‘amazing’ holidays; but looking back now I was the lucky one. Don’t get me wrong my friends did get to go to amazing places; many of these places I still want to go to. Yet, if I had gone to some of these places when I was younger I would never have appreciated them for what they truly are. I love going somewhere new and being able to immerse myself in the culture; history and beauty of a place.

Yes, I could have gone back to these places as an adult as well as a child; but then I would have missed out on all the fun holidays I had in the UK. Even though, it rains the majority of the time you can still have a fun summer holiday. Throughout my childhood, we would go to different places. This meant that I got to explore the culture within my own country as well as seeing how much this country has to offer. I still haven’t been able to go to every region of the UK. I’ve lived in the Midlands; East; South East; Devon and Wales. This has meant that I have friends all over the UK; which is a great excuse to travel around even more. By having our holidays in Devon and Cornwall it meant that we were able to see family whilst having a holiday.

At one point we went through a stage of surfing holidays, who cares if it’s raining if you’re going to be in the sea surfing anyway. At one point my parents’ even booked my brother and me to surf school in our October half term. I’m sure many of you are thinking that this seems like a strange time to go to Surf School as the weather isn’t going to be good and if you don’t know about surfing that is the wrong time to go. North Devon gets good surf in the summer and autumn. Saunton Sands and Croyde Bay, were where we had been the summer before. If you want somewhere to surf within the UK I would totally recommend these beaches.

By having holidays like this, I’ve been able to spend valuable time with family that otherwise I wouldn’t have seen. Plus, I’ve been to many amazing places that you don’t necessary think about going to when it’s on your doorstep. Here is a list of some of the amazing places I’ve been to:

  • Land’s end
  • St Ives
  • The Isles of Scilly
  • Poldock Mine
  • Wookey Hole
  • Croyde Bay and Saunton Sands
  • Dartmoor
  • South Downs
  • Cadbury world
  • Tower of London
  • London Eye
  • Winsdor Castle
  • Snowdonia
  • Legoland
  • Alton Towers
  • Brighton
  • Thorpe Park
  • Exeter
  • Aberystywth

This isn’t even the complete list as there is just so much to do within the UK that, people don’t even think about. So who cares about the whether, if you were in a different country you wouldn’t let it put you off seeing things as you only had a limited amount of time there.

Maria

img_0695
Dawlish Seawall
Author: MariaGrace93

Graduate of International Politics enjoys traveling and playing sport namely rugby

Leave a Reply

